Book Reviews

Thoughts on “Flowers for Algernon”

How strange it is that people with honest feelings and sensibility, who would not take advantage of a man born without arms or legs or eyes–how such people think nothing of abusing a man born with low intelligence.

I am gonna confess that I hadn’t even heard of this book and was much better without it until the beginning of this month. It was my bookclub pick of the month.

And boy, was it amazing? This is the kind of book that breaks your heart in several sharp little pieces. The fact that it was written in a journal format only made it worst.

In this book, we follow a guy name Charlie who has pretty low IQ level. But has some ambitious goals to be smart like peoples in the bakery he work in. Somehow he gets a chance to be a part of a scientific experiment which is to make peoples smart.

A test on a rabbit named Algernon has gone successful, so everyone is hopeful that same will happen to Charlie. The story then follows his journey of getting smart through his journal. And how the world starts to feel completely different from what he had anticipated. Peoples opposite of what he had made them to be.

What I really liked about the format was… so much was left for readers imagination. No big descriptions of places, peoples. What was really the focus of the narrative was how Charlie felt. And that’s all that mattered in the story.

The ebb and flow of his emotions, while he first began to untangle this strange world of consciousness. It was a wonder to read. And so intimately written.

I naturally gave this book five stars, and would recommend anyone to read it. I don’t mean to sound coldhearted, but rarely any book moves me to tears. This one did!

 

The characters starred in my mind as:

I had just recently came up with a new idea about adding the characters’ as they were starred in my mind and which I wish would play in the movie adaption if that ever happen. Since in this book, we mostly see one character and honestly, I am new to this stuff. I will only add who played Charlie in my mind’s theater.

Misha Collins as Charlie:

images.duckduckgo.com

I read this book close to when I was watching the season 8 of Supernatural. And the confused look of Misha Collins was exactly what Charlie was going through. I couldn’t help but keep imagining him as Charlie. I would love to see him do this role.

Again IF the movie adaption happens. This book is too intimate to be screened properly. But… wishful thinking. Can’t help that. 😉

 

Tell Me : Have you read it? If so what was your thoughts. Who played Charlie in your mind? If you are planning to pick it up, share that with me too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

