Posted in Book Reviews

The Raven Boys

The Raven Boys (Raven Cycle, #1)The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Such beautiful and atmospheric writing, such an honorable friendships, and such a diverse and amazing cast of characters. And the POVs were so deep, you could feel each character individually. Rarely a book manages to pull that off.

When I picked this book up, all I knew was this is a novel with paranormal stuff happening and features a high school clique. To me, that’s equivalent of saying “sold!”But here is a little bit of summary,

the book follows a girl name Blue who doesn’t know about her father. Her mother and she live with bunch of other (all fun characters) ladies who all are psychics. Blue herself hasn’t seen supernatural yet but she is considered to be a battery of sorts, and her presence make supernatural readings more easier.

Than we have a private high school of all rich boys, where there is a clique of a rich kid with and obsession to treasure-hunt, Gansey, and three of his friends that just follow his whims because they love him.

They are searching a long dead Welsh king named Glendower, and it has something to do with strong spiritual lines found in the world, one is in Henrietta, a really strong one, where this story is based.

Blue sees her first ever supernatural vision about Gansey. Which implies he is about to die the following year, and she feels responsibility of approaching him to warn him off. But when she meet these guys, and find out about there treasure-hunt, she feels drawn in. With the mystery of it and the fact that this can be her very first actual contact with something supernatural.

And thus, their search and lots of amazing magical things begin to happen.

 

The way Stiefvater played with POVs was really interesting to read. For example, I didn’t much liked Adam throughout the book, but when Gansey was introduced through his POV I felt instantly drawn to charming yet deep Gansey.

And then, there was Blue, sweet, adorable but nonetheless mysterious. Even though she is one of the protagonist (yes there are multiple) I always felt mystified by her. The female protagonists in YA feels so tropy, and although Blue followed most of those tropes, Stiefvater’s deep POV style and some of Blue’s own quirkiness made her feel fresh.
As for Adam though I didn’t liked him much, but he was really understandable in all his flaws. That made him pretty deep character.
The setting was breathtaking, the prose adding such an amazing color.
And no focus but just hints of the story might taking a romantic turn in the future was kind of interesting (and that’s a girl who has hate for romantic fantasies talking). Not that I want this Glendower obsessed Gansey to get Blue obsessed. He will loose the edge he has in my list of likable traits in a character. But with Stiefvater’s writing style, I doubt I might end up liking their love story. Maybe I will find that direction just as relatable when the time comes.
But for the moment, I am enjoying treasure-hunt obsession and magical realism. And can’t deny the fact that Blue’s visions of future, although cheesy were spectacular and added such flavor to the experience.

View all my reviews

Tell me: Have any of you guys read this book or are you planning to pick this one up?

Author:

Aspiring to be author someday. I just love reading books and babble about them. Since nobody around me likes to listen about that, I decided to bug the internet with it. Lets explore the worlds of fiction together.

4 thoughts on “The Raven Boys

  1. Yay! I’m so glad you liked this book! The characters just keep getting better and better in my opinion, there’s so much development and I love that. I also thought Blue was amazing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

