Book Reviews

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A Court of Thorns and Roses (A Court of Thorns and Roses, #1)A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This book has left me with so many mixed feeling. Having parts that absolutely awed me with it’s perfection, to parts that were to strange for me to absorb.
The world-building was awesome, bordering perfection. But so little of it was able to be explored with the tight-knitted plot. But as far as I have heard, the next part has more of that. So I am really excited to get into that book. But that didn’t make this an incomplete or just a beginning book, it kind of finished the story neatly and is self-contained. One can easily leave this series in this part without any questions hanging in mind. But the world is alluring enough to make you want to pick the next one anyway.
As for characters, the cast was strangest in my opinion. I liked Tamlin and Lucien completely, without much regards. Amarantha was the sort of villain whom are pretty easy to despise with every bone. But I always had trouble connecting with Feyre kind of characters, for some reason, she felt unrelatable to me. And Rhysand was so hard to get. His morbid ways along with the attempts to make his character likable was hard for me to wrap my mind around.
And then their was the problem of family, characters who shape the protagonist but used so passively doesn’t goes high in my opinion. These were the reasons to suck two starts out of this book, the rest was awesome. (and also it has a lot of unnecessary romantic complications, which those who follow my reviews knows doesn’t goes well with my taste.)
But still, I have high hopes for book two. đŸ˜€

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

