Posted in Book Reviews

Red Queen (Red Queen #1) by Victoria Aveyard

Red Queen (Red Queen, #1)Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I reached this book kind of blind-folded with so many mixed opinions from so many peoples I trusted. I hadn’t known what to expect. But it reached every one of good expectations and a bit more. The world, it was so awesome even though so cruel (kinda like ours, right?) The sequences so action packed and fun, yet so deep with thematic resonance. Aveyard took so many of our actual world’s issues and painted them in a richly imagined half-fantasy, half-sci-fi, kind of steampunky world. Which was really awesome.
The characters were all nice, but the two princes were the most interesting of all. Again, Aveyard masterfully kept both of them look like prince perfects, both at odds with each other, and both madly in love with the protagonist Mare. Always hinting at darkness hiding beneath both of them.
I consider myself a smart reader, seeing most of the things before happening. Some of the surprises in this book too had seemed obvious to me. But these two guys, the clues were so confusing at least I couldn’t understand where I was being led to. And as things turned out, it was so perfect it fascinated me.
As everyone was saying in reviews, the end was really worth it. Even if you feel like you hate this book at the beginning, trust me and bear through it.
Again I will say, there were too many important questions about our own world raised in this book in such a fun and fascinating way. It is worth your time. I would love to see what gems of insights everyone else gleam through these.

View all my reviews

Author:

Aspiring to be author someday. I just love reading books and babble about them. Since nobody around me likes to listen about that, I decided to bug the internet with it. Lets explore the worlds of fiction together.

Leave a Reply

