Posted in Wrap-ups and TBRs

July Wrap-up

Hey everyone, I was just deciding to post my July wrap up and was amazed to realize that I have actually read quite a few books this month. And I am really proud of myself, although I can’t say that about blogging. Which has been a downward slope.

So without further whining, lets get into it. (This post will be pretty long as it is)

16096824So the first book I read this month was A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. I really liked the world building of this book, but the story didn’t catch me that much.

In this book we follows a girl named Fayre who is a hunter in a starving nation and is the only source of food and money for her family. But one day on a hunt, she accidentally gets to a faerie and kill it because she hates them, but it later turns out to be a crime and the punishment for her is to leave her family and be at the Lord Fae’s captivation. And after that, a story takes a romantic turn thus it is called a Beauty and the Beast retelling.

As I said, I loved the world-building but that specific thing made me come out of the story.

 

22328546The next book was Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. I had heard so many mixed opinions about this book that I was skeptical of picking this up. The only thing made me do it was it’s beautiful cover. But contrary to popular opinion, I really loved this book.

The protagonist was really fun character, the world-building was really awesome. I liked the setting, the plot. Everything. Aside from what everyone else think the best part of this book. The last twist, which I could see coming, and didn’t got as intrigued by it as everyone else.

This book is about a world divided between two kinds of peoples. The regular old red bloods, and the silver bloods. Silver bloods rule the world and all have some super powers. Until a girl named Mare is discovered to be from red blood family but has silver blood powers. She is dragged from her home, shown as a long lost daughter of some silver bloods, and is engaged to a the second prince of the kingdom.

The story follows the politics and family ties, and the special-ness of Mare. I know, I have ruined the synopsis. But you get the idea, right?

 

Then I read Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stiefvater. Which has been my obsession since I guess June, when I discovered it? Or was it end of May? Anyhoo, I flew through the whole series and it was awesome. BLLB is the third part, I have read it and the fourth one, The Raven King in July as well. I am planning to write an overall discussion post on this series, since I just loved it so much.

 

23299512Then I read This Savage Song by Victoria Schwab. Those who has been in this blog for even a little while might know how much I love this girl, and everything she has ever written. This Savage Song is her latest book in a new series, following two main characters living in a city divided in two. The world had developed a strange phenomena where people who has suffered from violence becomes monsters.

There are three types of monsters, Malchai, Corsai, and Sunai. Our main character August Flynn is a Sunai who has to eat souls through music in order to survive. But can only eat souls of peoples who are tainted with some crime.

And the other main character, Kate Harker is the daughter of the ruler of other half of the city. She is a regular human. And both August and Kate gets into same school and forms a friendship which turns out to be quite deadly.

This might be my most favorite book of this month.

16793Next I read Stardust by Neil Gaiman. The whole concept of this book is weird for me to define, this follows our main character named Tristan Thorn, who lives in a wall. Bordering to France and our regular world, but inside Faerie realms.

He falls in love with a girl. When he tries to confess his love for her, a star falls from the sky. To mock him, she says if you bring me that star, I will do whatever you ask me to do for you. And he begins a journey to search for that star.

It is weird, but so well done that I became awesome. This is my first Gaiman experience, but from what I heard, this book was his relatively less weirder one. So I am really excited about other books from him.

 

Next up I read Zenith the Andorma Saga by Sasha Alsberg and Lindsay Cummings. A book about space pirates and female assassins. Kind of the guilty pleasure reads, but not much depth in the plot.

 

7896527Then I read Throne of Glass. Finally getting into this famous world. I had less expectations from this book, but it turned out to be a lot of fun. I have a whole review of this book in my blog. So check that out if you want to know more about this book.

And lastly, (promise this is the last book I read this month :P) Ruin and Rising by Leigh Bardugo. This is the last book of Grisha trilogy, so I can’t say anything about it without spoiling it. I have reviews of previous books so check it out if you want to know about it.

I really liked the ending of this series. Everything was tied up well, and I was really happy over how things turned out. So I will definitely recommend this series to everyone. I personally loved it.

 

And with that, we are finally done with my July wrap up. I personally had lots of fun this month, and every book I read was just awesome. Tell me in the comments which books you read this month and what was your favorite.

Thanks for sticking through to the end. šŸ˜€

Author:

Aspiring to be author someday. I just love reading books and babble about them. Since nobody around me likes to listen about that, I decided to bug the internet with it. Lets explore the worlds of fiction together.

Leave a Reply

