Posted in Book Reviews

Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson!

Warbreaker (Warbreaker, #1)Warbreaker by Brandon Sanderson

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

As always, Sanderson proved himself master of characterization and plot twists. So many remarkable memorable characters popped up throughout the story to count. From Vasher to Lightsong, each and every one of them had a unique voice and added an interesting flavor to the pot.
The story follows two kingdoms at the brink of war. A shaky peace treaty keeping the war at bay, but a single mistake from one of the king starts the spiral of events that is the whole novel. The treaty was to marry his eldest daughter to the other king when she came of age, but the king sends his other daughter instead. I kept waiting for a more plausible explanation as to why the king made the decision, sadly that never happened.
But from then, the spiral of events kept me hooked and breathless with their brilliance.
The story followed multiple POVs and all the elements of fantasy a fan would enjoy, yet the colorful magic system made it a breath of fresh air. To add icing on the cake, a huge chunk of the story was filled with politics and court drama. With the unique style of Sanderson, it felt way fresher and more interesting.
I didn’t personally enjoyed Blushweaver’s character, though her contribution to making Lightsong as beloved as he was can’t be denied. Their maturish bickering was the highlight of the show.

“Lightsong!” she said. “One could say you begin to sound jealous!”
“One could also say that my feet smell like guava fruit,” he said. “Just because could say it doesn’t mean it’s relevant.”

I have seen a lot of mixed opinions about Vivenna, the princess who was supposed to marry the king but her sister got sacrificed instead. I personally really loved her character development. To be honest, I used to roll my eyes at the beginning at the description of her perfection. Thankfully, as the story unfolded she became getting more and more grounded. Making mistakes and trying to redeem them.
I really enjoyed and will always miss her time with the mercenaries.
I pat myself on the back for always seeing Vasher as a nice gray character instead of bad-guy. :3
I updated a status right when I started this book that I was loving this guy and stood true until the end.

Vasher had always found it interesting that the men who watched dungeons tended to be as bad as, or worse than, the men they guarded. Perhaps that was deliberate. Society didn’t seem to care if such men were outside the cells or in them, so long as they were kept away from honest men.

Seriously, what’s there not to like?
Other than him, all the plot-twists and betrayals left be flabbergasted.
This is the first book by Sanderson I finished after the masterpiece: the original Mistborn trilogy. Though this book is far behind the brilliance of that book, I’ve got to say, the characters were way more well-rounded and gray in this one.
The villain’s and hero’s motivations overlapped more and the thematic questions were stronger.
Overall this one is a strong read which I will always miss. 😀

View all my reviews

Author:

Aspiring to be author someday. I just love reading books and babble about them. Since nobody around me likes to listen about that, I decided to bug the internet with it. Lets explore the worlds of fiction together.

Leave a Reply

