Posted in Book Reviews

A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir!

A Torch Against the Night (An Ember in the Ashes, #2)A Torch Against the Night by Sabaa Tahir

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I had read the last book quite a while ago. It ended in a cliffhanger and I was weary of picking this one up without a reread. Fearing that the story might get confusing, but Tahir took off where she left the last book without missing a beat. While recounting the events from last one in a manner that didn’t fall either in confusing or boring zone. So kudos for that achievement.
I have to say, though, that the middle was slightly sagging. Not the pace, it was a thrilling ride until the end. But if felt slightly off the mark, as compared to the awesomeness of overall series. It was a tightrope battle of 3-4 stars. But then, the third act happened, and all hell broke loose. I was literally at the edge of my seat the whole while reading that part. And might have been slightly snappy towards anyone who tried to drag me out of the magical world I was in and back to the reality.
I can’t say much about the plot without spoiling anything. What I can say is the character development was on point. I really like even the coolest characters in this series are so grounded in reality. So prone to mistakes, so vulnerable. At the middle though, I had gotten really frustrated from all the love-triangle drama. All I wanted was one action sequence where Keenan and Elias worked as allies, both of them are such cool fighters. Was it too much to ask?
I also appreciated Tahir’s teasing with the topics of pain and death. The overall tone of this story is bleak and dark. And the way death is approached feels too real, it’s painful yet wonderful to read.
There was a huge build-up towards one plot-twist. I saw it coming miles away, though, but somehow it managed to pack a surprising punch.
This book didn’t end on a cliffhanger like the last one, but still had enough going on that I just can’t wait to get my hands on the next one. I need it, now!
Especially considering the point it ended. Filled with so much hope, yet so much hopelessness at the same time. I am not sure how the author manages it, creating so many conflicting emotions in a reader in the same time.

View all my reviews

Author:

Aspiring to be author someday. I just love reading books and babble about them. Since nobody around me likes to listen about that, I decided to bug the internet with it. Lets explore the worlds of fiction together.

Leave a Reply

