Book Reviews · New Releases

A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic 3) by V.E Schwab

A Conjuring of Light (Shades of Magic, #3)A Conjuring of Light by V.E. Schwab
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Take all the stars from me, Schwab, you deserve them for creating this masterpiece for us. It’s always good to see a writer growing with each book, and for Schwab, the change is more prominent. The first book in this trilogy had so much promise, yet turned so little stones. Ever since being introduced to this world (by a booktube channel btw) I had been in awe from the concept and the premise. When I found the book and started reading it, the magical world and her amazing writing style pulled me in so much, I forgot everything else that was happening in my life and finished that one in a single sitting.
But once done, I felt so frustrated. I needed more of Red London and Kell. As if Schwab had read my mind, the second book came which had nothing but Red London–not as much Kell as I would like, though.
And I finished that again with feeling that so many stones were left unturned. While hyping over the release of this book, I feared I will end up finishing this one the same way. But turned out I shouldn’t have worried.
Every character, from major to minor, were given their due time. All the backstories unraveled. While keeping the pace thrilling, I am in awe how the author managed that.
Kell had always been my favorite, from the moment he was introduced. Lila had a tendency to keep getting better and better by each scene. Alucard was a cool character when introduce, but turned out to have so much depth in him. I was close to tears at one point for him. And for Rhy, and unpopular opinion here. I was annoyyed by him in the first book, but then he kept growing on me. Until by the climax, he was the one I was most pained for. Most rooting for.
And a moment of silence for the king and queen please. I mean, I haven’t seen a single YA book putting so much weight on the parental characters. Previous book in this series also had merely touch on the corners of their character. Kind of decoration pieces just for display. But in this one, I can’t even begin to describe how happy and in awe I am by the justice done to their character.
This is the kind of book where a reader is pained at the death of even trivial characters. Because the death was carved out from the ones left living. The emptiness always left inside them, a hollow that kept ringing in every word so that a reader had to feel it.
The plot was amazingly built. Without missing a beat. From the moment the book started, it felt like a climatic sequence. That was the measure of intensity. The climax was epic. The action scenes was thrilling to the bone. The adventurous feel was just amazing.
As you can all see, the whole review has been me madly gushing over the book. Some might be even rolling their eyes– surely there has to be some weakness in the book. And certainly there is, one tiny one.
IT ENDED!
Gosh I don’t want it to end. Don’t know what to do with my life anymore. Please Schwab, fill the void soon or my life will be left miserable forever.
Okay now I have turned into rambling so should take my leave.
P.S a full spoilery thought post is cooming soon in my blog. Shameless marketing over, time to leave the review for those brave enough to read it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

