Posted in Wrap-ups and TBRs

June Wrap-up

Finally the time of the month where one gets to realize how bad (or good, it depends) your reading life in going. Starting a post with that statement is kind of a spoiler since June was a pretty bad reading month for me. I managed to finish only three books this month. It was one of the worst, so without further ado, let me jump in.

26465507My Sister Rosa:

The first book I finished this month was My Sister Rosa by Justine Larbalestier. This is a dark psychological thriller where we follow a young teenager named maybe Che…? I believe. It was written in the first person, so his name didn’t matter much.

He is a teenage boy, his life is disoriented with his family’s constant moving and lack of stability when he starts to realize that his eleven-year-old sister is a psychopath. Things get messy and downhill from there on.

I started this book with a lot of expectations since the premise called for it. The beginning was breathtakingly good as well, but in the middle, the book started going downhill for me. Something about the way the story unfolded just didn’t sit well with me. Maybe I was expecting it to get way darker than it actually was. But I ended up giving it 3-out-of-5 stars.

21414439Truthwithch:

The next book I finished was Truthwitch by Susan Dennard. This is the gateway book to a really interesting fantasy world. Where there are different kinds of witches with different sorts of powers. We follow the journey of two friends, Safi and Iseult, Safi being one with a rare kind of witchery. She is the truthwitch, meaning she can tell truth from lie through her powers. An invaluable asset to a lot for the governments when there is already war brewing.

She is then discovered by a Bloodwitch who can literally smell a different kind of witcheries through literally smelling them. He finds out about her and is on her trail. The story explodes from there. I really enjoyed this book. Especially Susan Dennard has a way of writing fight scenes,

I really enjoyed this book. Especially Susan Dennard has a way of writing fight scenes, that make them so fun to read. And all of the characters were so dang fun. Though some of them had same voices, it was still a ton of fun to read. The only problem I had was the way the only relationship in this book evolved. To me, it felt as if the author was trying to spoonfeed us the fact that they were attracting towards each other. Instead of letting the attraction between them develop naturally. Though I am rarely happy with romantic relationships or interested in them anyway. So ignore my words on it.

Overall, it was a solid 4-star read for me.

22299763Crooked Kingdom:

The last book I finished this month was the last book in Six of Crows duology. Being Crooked Kingdom by Leigh Bardugo. This is an amazing series based on a gang of six misfits who hate each other. Th series is extremely dark and has really gray and fun characters. I loved the first book in this series way to much.

That might be the reason why I found this one slightly lackluster. Though it was mostly me situation, the book wasn’t bad but I found it hard to get through the middle. The first half was amazing, the ending pretty decent and filled with just the right amount of emotions. But the middle was way too complicated without any fun stuff that was the charm of this series overall. So I found that part boring. I still gave this book a four star, since I loved the beginning and also the way it ended.

 

So these are the only books I managed to finish this month. Let me know down below the books you read this month and which one was your favorite. I will see you soon with a new post. 🙂

Author:

Aspiring to be author someday. I just love reading books and babble about them. Since nobody around me likes to listen about that, I decided to bug the internet with it. Lets explore the worlds of fiction together.

Leave a Reply

