Posted in Book Reviews

The Way of Kings (Stormlight Archives #1)

The Way of Kings (The Stormlight Archive, #1)The Way of Kings by Brandon Sanderson

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

“My father used to say that there are two kinds of people in the world,” Kaladin whispered, voice raspy. “He said there are those who take lives. And there are those who save lives… I used to think he was wrong. I thought there was a third group. People who killed in order to save.” He shook his head. “I was a fool. There is a third group, a big one, but it isn’t what I thought…. The people who exist to be saved or to be killed. The group in the middle. The ones who can’t do anything but die or be protected. The victims. That’s all I am.”

This book… and the series as a whole can be easily considered the new face of the fantasy genre. Plotted so intricately, written so nicely, and overall so well done. My thoughts are in a jumble as I desperately try to make sense of them and write a review.
I am amazed that once I heard somewhere about Sanderson that his characterization is weak. Since I doubt those peoples have read Kaladin (or Kelsier for that matter). He is one of the most well-crafted and amazing characters I have ever stumbled upon.
He is broken, yes he does spend a lot of time being sulky over it. But it all fits the plot and the situation so well. And never does it compromise the pace.

He was a slave. But he didn’t need to think like one.

Aside from him, this book was filled with characters who will stay with me long after I have finished this book. Dalinar, Syl, Szeth, and Jasnah being among my favorites. This is going to be an almost ten book series, and each book will focus more on a single character. This one was about Kaladin. This might be the first time in a book where I found myself looking more forward to the backstory scenes. Those were done so well. Kaladin’s past has so much richness, his life as a whole is so amazingly crafted which makes us really think and be appreciative of our privileges and feel bad for making any sort of excuses regarding anything. If Kaladin could manage what he did if he didn’t give up than others are just being petty. I won’t apologize it is sounds like gushing since I loved his character so much.
The behemoth size served the story extremely well, only then did the ending had the impact it held. Every character got the due characterization.
The world-building just needs a moment of silence, from different grasses to the big historical events, everything was done just so perfectly.
I usually read two or three books at a time, switching between them. But I read this one almost in its entirety. Although its size is enormous and intimidating. The story just hooked me so much that I couldn’t stop.
The only minor con I had was a small romance aspect in this book, Dalinar’s. Although it got next to no coverage or page space, it did bug me considering how perfect the rest of the book was.
Overall, this is a definite must read and I believe Sanderson has yet again challenged the norms and raised the bars for not only the genre as a whole but for himself too. (Since I have definitely started expecting a lot from him)

View all my reviews

Author:

Aspiring to be author someday. I just love reading books and babble about them. Since nobody around me likes to listen about that, I decided to bug the internet with it. Lets explore the worlds of fiction together.

Leave a Reply

