Book Reviews

When Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon!

When Dimple Met RishiWhen Dimple Met Rishi by Sandhya Menon

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

Dare I say that I didn’t hate it, or *gasps* I ended up enjoying it?
Haha, I was just messing around. When Dimple Met Rishi is one of the most mixedly opinionated books I have read recently. It was so hyped before coming out, thanks to the premise. Afterward, a lot of people adored it. But more than those were the ones (especially in my feed) who hated and despised it.
To me, it felt like a throwback to cheese filled Bollywood movies I grew up watching. There are a ton of references riddled in this book too. So reading an English novel with a glimpse of that culture was fun.
This is a book about a girl whose mother is pushing her to get married and she is just interested into going college and find freedom. And the guy she is arranged to marry is one who finds a lot of comfort in his traditions and is totally on the ship ready to set sail with the girl of her mother’s dreams.
Their parents arrange them to meet on a internship programme but Dimple has no idea about the arrangement. She is in there only for coding and the result is quite a bit of drama.
Albeit having some problems, especially the bad writing style. I liked the character relationships in this book a lot.
Especially Rishi’s. He is the kind of character a lot of guys need to read and learn something from. lol
As for Dimple, well she is fiercer than it suits me. Not liked her character much, but the way Rishi complemented her growth was worth reading.
This book followed the theme of choice, between career and love. Especially in women. How the decisions are hard but making a sacrifice is not necessarily obsolete. It also touched upon the subject of the worth of pursuing one’s passion. Being different than norm was also a topic discussed with maturity. Which brought back a lot of memories from angsty teenage years, haha.
The weird thing I found in this book was such overuse of Hindi. For a fluent like me, it wasn’t an issue. But a majority of the readers must not have understood a single word, I wonder how they fared through those parts?
Also, I have heard of unreasonably excited for marriage kind of brown parents. But never have I heard of parents who would be so hopping on their feet to become grandparents right when their children turns eighteen. The most impractical ones also starts thinking along those line only after twenty-five. But still it was cute, though a bit emateur.
So that’s it for this review. I was in the mood for it and ended up enjoying it, but I can tell why a lot of people didn’t like it. So take my opinion with a grain of salt. 😀
Thanks for reading and share your thoughts about this book with me as I would love to know. 🙂

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

