Book Reviews

The Dark Days Club (Lady Helen #1) by Alison Goodman

The Dark Days Club (Lady Helen, #1)The Dark Days Club by Alison Goodman

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Politics, it seemed, did not stop to mourn.

4.5/5 star
A really amazing setting, great cast of deep and uncliched characters, and a good mystery. A great book to read all in all. But then, why did I gave it 4.5 stars?
Because the beginning of this book was super-dense. And things kicked of awfully slowly, at least in my opinion. But once the story took on full swing, there was no stopping the action.
In this story, we follow a girl named Helen who lives in a posh society in the era of Regency England. She is a daughter of someone who is considered to be a betrayer of the kingdom, though no one knows the real story behind it, Helen is always haunted by the past of her mother’s bad-reputation. Especially so because of her uncle, also her guardian, always holds her mother in such a bad light and has a biased opinion towards Helen because of that too. Though her aunt is really nice and gracious, with bland priorities expected from a mother-figure. To marry Helen to someone respectable.
Although Helen is different in most ways, and her priorities aren’t much focused on getting married. She believes this is the better course to go, and for the most part, tries to do as is expected from her and is living a restless, yet comfortable life.
Until strange things start happening. And she discovers this under-world where there are creatures lurking as humans and she is one of those few with the power to stop them.
This plot is intriguing, and the setting makes it way more gothic and fun to read.
But what got most stars were the characters. Especially of Lady Helen. I really like how unlike most novels with female leads I normally read, Helen was a girl with priorities to actually stay in the bounds put on her by society and actually do what her family wanted. I really enjoyed how the duty by having powers and the reputation of her family kept fighting inside her. She never was selfish on both ends. She genuinely wanted to help protect the world through her powers, yet she also wanted the happiness and safety of her own family. That really got the most points from me, her internal struggle. The pressure of who you are supposed to be and who you can be was just done the right way if that makes any sense.
Every other character was just as intriguing and memorable too. For the most part of this book, especially the third half, I really enjoyed how delicious the whole mystery aspect was.
There is not a single poor character whom I have not doubted to be against Helen, everyone felt slightly grayish and shady. Something I really appreciate.
Lord Carlston reminded me of Rhett Butler, which was awesome. He just has that cool vibe in him and I loved reading the scenes where he got the forefront attention. He was one of those characters who really didn’t give a damn about how he was considered as in the society and was arrogant yet kind. So awesome.
But other characters were amazing too. Darby, Helen’s maidservant, and confidante. Her brother Andrew, and the Duke of Selburn (I don’t remember his name, Regency books make me dizzy with remembering not only names but titles too). Although I still believe there is something going on with this particular character, so far nothing much is revealed aside from his blind love and undying need to marry Helen, no matter how things go. Which does makes me question him. That’s a huge reason why I can’t wait to pick up the next book real soon.
The only slight complaint I have is the dense beginning, and I am sure it will put off most of the readers when they first start it. Some of my friends have DNF’ed it too, that’s why I know. But trust me guys, once the story picks up, the wait will seem like worth it.
Overall a great book, I highly recommend it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

