Book Reviews

City of Glass (Mortal Instruments #3) by Cassandra Clare!

City of Glass (The Mortal Instruments, #3)City of Glass by Cassandra Clare

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

4.5/5 star, but I am rounding up in honor to how much this book pleasantly surprised me. First, let me share with you guys a little story, I started reading the first MI book a couple of years ago. Back then, I wasn’t much into YA genre as a whole. I read it and found the concept interesting but not thoroughly executed. Ever since I had been hammered all around about how amazing Shadowhunters world is and how amazing these books are. And I kept wondering had I read the same book as everyone else? It was good, sure, but not that good. I picked the second book, this time knowing the hype. And was sadly disappointed. Afterwards, I heard that the third book is where the series actually takes off, and I started reading it in hopes that it might be the mind-blower everyone said it was. But the first half of reading turned out to be pure torture for me. Especially because of the hype, I really wanted to find the stuff that everyone else loved so much but was failing to do so.
Exactly through the halfway point, I DNF’ed it.
Fast forward some months, and Lord of Shadows came out. Again the social media was in an uproar. I was trying to escape hype this time since I had made up my mind and believed that this series is not right at my alley. Then I heard some of the reviewers I really trust and some of my friends told me that the MI is a weak series overall, but if you believe the concept is powerful, try pushing through the first series and it will get much better. I decided to read it again but didn’t have the energy to reread the first half and started where I had left off.
Somehow, it caught me completely this time. The second half of this book was so good and so well executed, the problem had raised to such an extent and the conclusion was so satisfactory. With so much good action. I had also been slightly spoiled about something but that was the reason I continued on with this series in the first place. (view spoiler)
And the story and characterization and the world just really gripped me and I kept reading until 4 a.m yesterday. So yeah, I would say that this series is actually worth the hype, it just requires way more patience than a series should. But the wait is worth it, I am already excited to jump in the first book of Infernal Devices, its concept and setting look way more exciting to me in the first place.

View all my reviews

4 thoughts on “City of Glass (Mortal Instruments #3) by Cassandra Clare!

  1. I started reading the MI series when I was younger, so I definitely got into it a lot quicker. Those were actually the books that got me into the entire YA genre.

    I know that Cassie Clare’s writing might not be for everyone, especially because this series has gotten so popular, but I absolutely loved it ❤ I'm glad you eventually enjoyed reading the third book!! (And I agree, this one is one of my favorites from the overall series)

    Like

  2. I was a bit meh about City of Bones when I read it a while ago so I wasn’t sure whether or not I wanted to continue the series, but seeing your 4.5/5 rating definitely makes me want to give it another try. Thanks for sharing and, as always, fabulous review! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

