Wrap-ups and TBRs

Top 5 books I want to read this Fall!

Hey, Guys!

Today I am here to talk with you about the top 5 books I want to read in this season. They are by no means the books coming out this season, in fact, I am planning to write a whole post about anticipated release separately. Rather this is my way of staying above my reading life and keeping plans to tackle my TBR the right way. So without further ado, let’s jump to the books.

99695711. Ready, Player, One, by Ernest Cline:

This is one of that book that I really want to read because of the movie anticipation. But also because of the fact that I feel like I am the only one in the whole book reading community who hasn’t done so yet.

This is a book set in the future so bleak that people have stopped even focusing much on the realities of everyday life. They rather like to spend most of their time in a Virtual Reality game; OASIS. Wade is a character who is, I think, participating in this huge competition set in that world and has to unlock a lot of puzzles. And to do that, one requires a knowledge of the pop-culture of decades ago, i.e current world.

The setting alone feels like a good enough reason to read. But the premise just makes it sound cooler and got me more excited to read it.

77288892. The Diviners, by Libba Bray:

Honestly, the biggest reason for me to read this book is that I have only heard a lot of people liking it and the fact that Libba Bray is a well sought-out writer whom I haven’t chanced upon yet. But for the sake of this post, I am adding Goodreads’ synopsis.

Evie O’Neill has been exiled from her boring old hometown and shipped off to the bustling streets of New York City—and she is pos-i-tute-ly ecstatic. It’s 1926, and New York is filled with speakeasies, Ziegfeld girls, and rakish pickpockets. The only catch is that she has to live with her uncle Will and his unhealthy obsession with the occult.

Evie worries he’ll discover her darkest secret: a supernatural power that has only brought her trouble so far. But when the police find a murdered girl branded with a cryptic symbol and Will is called to the scene, Evie realizes her gift could help catch a serial killer.

As Evie jumps headlong into a dance with a murderer, other stories unfold in the city that never sleeps. A young man named Memphis is caught between two worlds. A chorus girl named Theta is running from her past. A student named Jericho hides a shocking secret. And unknown to all, something dark and evil has awakened.

I have heard that Libba Bray has a way with words and her writing style is amazing. It’s a huge selling factor for a reader like me. I like authors with a poetical writing style and good grip on the prose. So I am really excited to read this book.

268921103. The Library at Mount Char, by Scott Hawkins:

I discovered this book via the twitter feed of my favorite author, V.E Schwab. It was one of her most recommended books and that alone made me want to read it. That and the fact that it had a library on its title.

But not until I read the premise was I this excited to read this book.

So in this book, there are a couple of average American youth who has been abducted to this strange library by someone called, Father. And they are made to study these ancient texts. They don’t know much about this Father of theirs aside from the fact that he has a way of evoking fear in them and he is shrouded in mystery.

Then, one day, the Father disappears. And the only reliability they had in their life vanishes. To find their Father, they have to uncover his dark secrets which lead to more darkness and I am here for it all.

308419844. Kings of the Wyld, by Nicholas Eames:

This is a book by a debut author who has been getting a lot of buzz in the book-blogging community lately. And all of my trusted reviewers and friends have been giving it 4 or 5 stars.

Honestly, that’s the only reason I want to read this book.

That and the fact that this book stars a band of misfits. A trope I really love and enjoy. So yeah, pretty excited for it.

 

79582845. Finnikin of the Rock, by Melina Marchetta:

This book is considered one of the best YA fantasy out there. And as a lover of that genre, I just had to pick it up.

In this book, we follow a guy name Finnikin who is cursed along with his whole kingdom in his early childhood by someone who has claimed the throne.

Now Finnikin has to find a way out and undo this curse with the help of a novice Evangelin, who claims to have a dark magic up her sleeve through which they can reclaim the land.

Obviously, things don’t go exactly according to the plan and all hell breaks loose.

 

So, these are the top 5 books I really want to read this fall. Let me know the books you guys are planning to read as I would love to know. And I will see you soon with a new post.

2 thoughts on “Top 5 books I want to read this Fall!

Leave a Reply

